(Chronicle) FC Barcelona regains the cupbearer throne by defeating EDF Logroño


#FCBarcelona #Sport #News

The final allowed the Catalans to regain the throne they lost in 2019, that year Real Sociedad won, after a duel they dominated from start to finish. In addition, the title is doubled by belonging to the last year and having also won the Iberdrola League.

EDF Logroño knew how to resist with order, aware that a bulky win would not have been a crazy result either, taking into account the talent they had in front of them. However, the Rioja women fit in at the worst moment, just before the break.

The fact of playing without pressure gave Javier Moncayo’s players a license to let go at times, but possession and chances were all for the Blaugrana. However, the first goal of the afternoon did not come until three minutes before the break. A penalty that Alexia Putellas caused and that she transformed herself.

But to top it all off the Rioja, the painting by Lluis Cortés found the second already almost touching ’45. On this occasion it was Aitana Bonmatí with the best match goal, an excellent play that started after a steal and ended with the leather in the squad. In fact, the Catalan ended up being named ‘best player in the final’.

The shot from the front was magnificent and put the seventh Barça Cup on track, which already leads the tournament’s record with seven titles, one more than Levante and Espanyol. That was another of the awards that this final had, which the Blaugranas did not miss in the second half with the third and final both in the afternoon.

This time it was Jennifer Hermoso who put her signature to close a duel that could have had the perfect finishing touch with a Putellas launch, almost from the middle of the field, which forced the Mexican Paloma to make a very worthwhile save. The 3-0 did not move and the title travels to Barcelona after a year due to the pandemic.


-RESULT: FC BARCELONA, 3 – EDF LOGROÑO, 0 (2-0, at halftime).


FC BARCELONA: Cloths; Torrejón, León, Pereira, Ouahabi (Melani, min.76); Graham, Guijarro (Hamraoui, min.69), Putellas, Bonmatí (Vicki, min.76); Martens (Oshoala, min.65) and Hermoso (Mariona, min.65).

EDF LOGROÑO: Tajonar; Caracas, Cazalla, Inés, Valderas; Ana Velázquez (Chini, min.68), Asantewaa (Tavlo, min.46), Luzuriaga, Nyman (Carol, min.79); Ida Guehai (Fishley, min.68) and Boho (Elloh, min.78).


1 – 0, min.42, Putellas.

2 – 0, min.44, Bonmatí.

3 – 0, min.61, Beautiful.

-ARBITRATOR: Zulema González González (C. Gallego). Without reprimands.

-STADIUM: La Rosaleda.

F.C. Barcelona Sport

F.C. Barcelona Sport News

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.